14
Jun
08

HypeBot Discusses Ways the Music Industry Can Save Itself

Hypebot LogoOne of my favorite music industry blogs, HypeBot, recently published a series of articles on how the music industry can save itself from destruction.

Now, as any reader of mine knows by now, I am no fan of major labels, and could care less about them saving themselves.

But I’m gonna reference the HypeBot series because I do think that it contains valuable information that indie labels/artists can use. If anything, maybe we as indies can lern what the majors have done and are doing that got themselves into such dire straits. And maybe we can avoid making the same mistakes.

For example, I wholeheartedly agree with Hypebot’s usage (in “Part 1, Off With Their Heads”) of Steve Job’s decision to accept only $1 a year in salary for running Apple Computer. His millions come from bonuses, which tie his financial success to the success of his company. All labels big and small could learn from that example!

The HypeBot article was published in a multi-part series:

Introduction

Parts 1 & 2: Off With Their Heads, Cut the Fat

Parts 3 & 4: Build Label Brands, Serve the Niches

Part 5: Release More Music

Part 6: Serve the Fans

Thanks again, HypeBot!

6 Responses to “HypeBot Discusses Ways the Music Industry Can Save Itself”


  1. June 26, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Funny how the points in this post are relevant to the conclusions I came to before signing EES up to Sellaband

    yes – you turned off the posts next door and I wanted to say that I was not beiong Angry in the SellaBand post
    And sarcasm? No – its just the english sense of humour I guess

    I also wanted to add this:
    When I read Johan’s response in isolation I did think that it was a little uncharacteristically terse – but have any of you read what he was responding to? I think Johan was very restrained!

    Here is just one example of this fella Urodo’s demands:
    3. Master Recording – I can’t believe that I’m even discussing this with you. What are we Chuck Berry? Master recording is owned by us if we are raising the money. Period.

    He isn’t very polite is he – I don’t think he ever won an prizes at negotiation school!

  2. June 26, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    One last point:

    As for master rights and publishing on SellaBand
    Artists have total decision making rights over their work with SellaBand.
    With record labels they do not…
    Simple as.

    We are already doing license deals in Japan and Germany with the artist I manage that has reached the 50k.
    We are totally able to negotiate our own deals – but we also have the support of SellaBand’s experience.
    I like that.

    SellaBand may have some issues but you seem to have made some knee jerk reactions without understanding what they offer artists and what the real alternatives are…

    I don’t expect you to lose that cynasism – thats cool
    But I invite you to stand back and watch SellaBand for a little longer

    Kind Regards

    Bob

  3. June 26, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Bob:

    VERY good point about Uro needing maybe a year or two in charm school! But if you’ve come to the same conclusion I have about some of the companies (especially the major labels) in this industry, then I’m sure you can also understand where Uro’s frustration comes from! And I would think Johan would understand that too.

    And I also understand that the band you manage has had some pretty impressive successes, which believe me, my friend, I APPLAUD THAT LOUDLY!!! I’m always glad to hear that an indie act or artist has achieved success. That’s what I’m all about, which is why I’m so passionate about all of these topics. But EES may just as well have achieved these successes with or without Sellaband.

    But please understand, I’ve seen SO many artists get taken advantage of by this point. And I know it’s mostly because artists will do almost anything that will assure them of success. So I think that companies like Sellaband have to realize that the onus is on THEM to prove themselves. If they’re going to gain from ad revenue or anything else off of the effort of artists, then they should be prepared to prove themselves.

    I know my responses can be cynical and knee jerk at times. But that doesn’t necessarily make me wrong. You’re right, though. I’ll sit back and watch Sellaband a little longer. And maybe I’ll print a retraction if it turns out they have the same level of commitment to artists that, say a CD Baby has.

    The thing about this is, if I was wrong, all I lose is a little face. I’m okay with that. But if I was right, then a lot of artists will have been taken advantage of (in terms of time and effort), and that would be a shame. So believe me, in this case, I hope I’m wrong!

  4. June 26, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    It is good to see that you are considering your position on this – Although I dont expect you to go the whole hog and to change your mind just yet!!!
    But SellaBand are already proving themselves to me and other artists…

    Glad that we could chat

    Cheers

    Bob

  5. June 26, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Oh why not re open the comments on the sellaband post? you might find more interesting posts…

  6. June 27, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Yeah, Bob, call me a masochist, but I re-opened the comments on that post. Reminds me of the storm of comments Hypebot’s getting on their criticism of Emusic….


Leave a Reply

