13
Jul
08

Street Sales in Hip-Hop… I Love This!

See, to me, this is what it’s all about!  This is the ultimate Do It Yourself grind!!!  My crew and I have sold thousands of CDs just like the rappers in this NY Times story about street CD sales. And I can tell you, I got a much better feeling selling my music on the streets than I ever did working any bullshit day job.

I know a lot of people might look at this article like, “so fuckin’ what?  They sell CDs on the streets, they’re not getting real money.”  Those people don’t get it.  By selling just 10-15 CDs a day on the street, a rapper can make just as good of a living as people working 40 hours a week in some jobs.  And they make a living doing something they love.

No having to kiss the asses of “gatekeepers”, no political bullshit, no RIAA, no bullshit A&Rs who wouldn’t know real Hip-Hop if it smacked ’em in the face.  Just you, your music, the fans, and their money.  One guy in the article claims 65,000 CDs sold over 4 years.  That’s 300,000 to 600,000 grand.  That’s good money, I don’t give a fuck who you are.  I know my crew Jump Squad has done some sizable numbers ourselves.

This just reminds me of why I love Hip-Hop so much.  You don’t have to wait for someone else to give you a fucking deal that will probably never come.   Coolfer, speaking on this same NY Times article, says “It’s got to be one of the tougher ways to build a career.”  Tough, yes, sometimes.  And I’m definitely not saying artists should leave TUneCore, CD Baby and MySpace out of their marketing efforts.  But moving your music yourself is an absolute must, especially for Hip-Hop artists.

As one of Coolfer’s commenters put it, “I’ve bought CDs on the streets many times, and have discovered some good stuff. Did you know that Immortal Technique started out that way and sold something like 60,000 copies?”

60,000 copies.  You do the math.

If you really want it, get out there, and do it yourself.  Make your sales, hold back some profit, reinvest it in marketing, and you’re on the way.  The only thing holding you back is you.

1 Response to “Street Sales in Hip-Hop… I Love This!”


  1. 1 coffeemag
    July 26, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    THESE ARE THE OLD WAYS THEY DO IT, EITHER HAND EM OUT OR LIKE THEY DO DOWN SOUTH AND WEST, OPEN YOUR TRUNK AND BANG IT OUT. NIGGAZ THESE DAYS IS PUSSY, THEY AFRAID OF OPEN COMMUNICATION AND STARTING CONVERSATIONS. THEY HIDE BEHIND THE INTERNET YA DIG?


Leave a Reply

