29
Jul
08

My Thoughts on the Rick Ross Situation

About the situation where Rick Ross was discovered by the Smoking Gun to have once been employed as a corrections officer….honestly, I don’t see what the big deal is.

I mean, I understand Smoking Gun exposing Ross’ past after he so blatantly denied having been a CO.  I mean, he was just asking for it.  But what I don’t understand is why deny it in the first place?  I mean, anybody who honestly believes that rappers are all big time ex-drug dealers has got to be insane.  It’s ridiculous.

Me, for example, I’ve worked part time in a lot of bullshit jobs that I wish I hadn’t had.  I’ve also pumped a little rock and did a few little jack moves here and there too.  I wouldn’t brag about the bad shit I’ve done, just like I wouldn’t deny the day jobs I’ve had.  Working doesn’t make you corny, it just helps to pay bills.  (For that matter, not every body that has a day job is squeaky clean, either.)

So i just don’t understand why Ross denied it so much.  If he had a day job, good shit.  If he also pumped a little (or a lot), that’s good too.  It’s all good.  Whatever you do to earn your money before you get in the rap game doesn’t matter.  Ultimately it should be all about putting out hot records, right?

I just don’t get it.  Why lie?

1 Response to “My Thoughts on the Rick Ross Situation”


  1. 1 coffeemag
    August 10, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    ITS CRAZY HOW PEOPLE ONLY WORRY ABOUT NEGATIVITY AND BULLSHIT IN HIP HOP. THEY ANOUNCE THE BULLSHIT ON WEBSITES LIKE ARRESTS, RELATIONSHIPS, BUSINESS MOVES, ETC. BUT WHEN THE ARTIST HAS A GREAT ALBUM THEY ONLY FOCUS WETHER IT SELLS OR NOT. I GUESS YOU HAVE TO HAVE A CRIMINAL RECORD BE ACCEPTED IN HIP HOP. WORKING A 9-5 IS OUT OF THE QUESTION! SAD DAY IN HIP HOP


Leave a Reply

